CTA - perusal score

InformationDark World is an entertaining show exploring the age old theme of good vs evil, or dark vs. light. This marching band show starts with an optional 60 second pre-show, setting a very dark tone for the first Act – Umbra – The Shadowlord. Using Bach’s “Toccata and Fugue”, provides an introduction to the dark character and continues to paint a dark and somber world inhabited by the shadow people. Act 2 – “Aurora, Angel of Light”, the music features your trumpet soloist, followed by an ensemble statement. After the front ensemble plays a transition, the music is passed to the woodwind choir and the brass choir, with a glorious statement by the full ensemble. The segment end softly as the Angel of Light sees what the habitants of Dark World have gone through and what she must do next to free them. Act 3 “A New World Awakens”, the music starts with the beautiful melody of “Air”, performed by your flute soloist. It then continues the thematic instrument usage of the organ into Saint Saen’s Organ Symphony, followed by Pachabel’s “Canon in D” performed by the front ensemble. The show finishes upbeat with a unique treatment of the Canon played by the ensemble.

Inspired by Bach/ Toccata and Fugue in D minor, Come Sweet Jesus, Air, Saint Saens/Organ Sym., Pachabel/Canon in D, and Klarfeld/Dark World
PercussionBret Kuhn

7:10 / 8:10 with pre-show

  • Flute
  • Clarinet-2
  • Bass Clarinet
  • Alto Sax-2
  • Tenor Sax
  • Bari Sax
  • Trumpet-2
  • Mellophone
  • Low Brass-2
  • Tuba
  • Snare
  • Tenors
  • Basses
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Xylophone
  • Vibes-2
  • Marimba-3
  • Aux. Perc.-7
  • Synth-2